Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Artist of the Week: Wale / DOWNLOAD LINK for The Eleven One Eleven Theory HERE!

The first thing that stands out about Wale is the fact that he is one of the few artists that has an “I will never get sick of this mixtape” mixtape.

On August 3rd of last year, Wale dropped More About Nothing, which stands as one of the greatest mixtapes of all time, in my opinion.

I have been familiar with Wale since his release of Paint a Picture, that he released as an independent mixtape in 2005. Even then, he was a unique talent that had so much potential, and it was only a matter of time before people heard about him outside of the DMV.

Even though More About Nothing was not his first project (not even close), this tape was what really seemed to put him on the radar as an underground artist. Prior to that tape, he had collabs with Lady Gaga, the Game, and Mark Ronson, who initially discovered him. These features gave him credibility, but it didn’t expose him to the masses.

Olubowale Victor Akintimehin, born September 21st, 1984, has been “active” in the hip hop game since 2006, with his release of Attention Deficit. The album got good reviews, but was underappreciated in the mainstream community. In addition, it was rumored that his label at the time, Interscope, didn’t ship enough albums to generate big numbers. (Hmmm...)

With one album and six mixtapes in the bag, on February 5, 2011, he announced that he was signing to Rick Ross’ Maybach Music Group Label.

In the past year, Wale has released plenty of hit records, his latest and most popular being, "That Way," featuring R&B sensation, Jeremih.

From an fan's standpoint, Wale recently hit over 1,000,000 followers on Twitter, which is a pretty good indicator of his increasing popularity.

Today, he is dropping The Eleven One Eleven Theory, his seventh mixtape, at 1:11p.m.


1. "Theory" 11.1.1
2. Fuck You
3. Drums N Shit (prod. by Deputy)
4. Chain Music
5. Lacefrontin'
6. Mother Nature (Slow Jammin) (prod. by BuBu)
7. Barry Sanders (prod. by DJ Toomp)
8. Bait
9. Passive Aggres-Her (prod. by Sonny Digital)
10. Fairytales feat. Lil Duval (prod. by Lil C)
11. Ocean Drive feat. Magazeen, Black Cobain and Tre of UCB
12. Samples N' Shit
13. Ambitious Girl Pt. 2 feat. J Holiday
14. Let's Chill feat. Lloyd
15. Pick.. Six
16. Varsity Blues
17. Underdogg (prod. by Hit-Boy)
18. The Podium feat. Black Cobain, Tre of UCB and Tone P
19. Globetrotters (Bonus)

We also have his Ambition album to look forward to this fall.